Rachel & Nathaniel

Hoping to Grow Our Family
through Open Adoption

 

About Us

We are Rachel and Nathaniel, and we are hoping to grow our family through open adoption.
Thank you for visiting our page. As parents, we have experienced the wonder of bringing a child into the world,
and we are grateful that you would consider sharing that wonder with us.

About Our Family

We feel incredibly blessed to have our 4 year-old daughter.

As we grow together, we feel that having another child would enrich our lives and our family further.

From the beginning of our relationship six years ago, we have considered adoption.

As we grow together,  we are certain that adoption is the right next step for our family.

Our daughter is very eager to be an older sibling and help take care of a younger sibling. She has been practicing for several years with her baby dolls (and our reluctant cat)!

On a regular basis now, she sets aside clothes and toys for her baby sibling.

We are a multi-lingual, multi-ethnic, multi-religious family. We have been raising our daughter to speak English and Spanish, and we celebrate Christian and Jewish holidays together with extended family.

Peace and respect for diversity are fundamental values in our family.

As parents, we are committed to raising our children to be curious, capable, confident, emotionally aware, expressive, caring, responsible, and connected to family, friends, community, and the environment. Above all, we are committed to making sure our children know that they are loved and belong. 

As a family, we spend a lot of time outdoors— in our backyard, at the park, gardening, hiking, running, biking, picnicking, sledding, by a lake, camping, at the beach, and just observing the natural wonders around us.

We also spend much of our time together playing, laughing, and reading books to our daughter.

She is a very imaginative child, and one of her favorite things to do is pretend and make up her own stories, characters, and songs. Nathaniel is a musician, plays several instruments, and has been showing her how to play them. We also love attending family-friendly concerts together.

We feel very fortunate, because our daughter has a great circle of friends in our community 

with whom she plays regularly.

We are close to our parents and our siblings, and they are very loving grandparents and aunts and uncles.

We spend much of our vacation time and holidays with them. We also have a diverse group of friends

in the U.S. and abroad, whom we value greatly and see as often as possible.

 
 

About Rachel

Having a child and being a parent has been the best thing I have done in my life. It is something that I also wanted to do ever since I was a child myself. I'm excited to welcome another child into our family.

I work as an advocacy coordinator for affordable housing in our region. I also am active in several organizations to make our community safer and more inclusive.


Recently I published a book, which involved nearly 10 years of research and writing in and about Venezuela. Publishing my book was one of the biggest accomplishments in my life!

One of the other biggest accomplishments in my life was co-founding a children's rights organization

in rural South Africa, where I was a Peace Corps Volunteer. 

I also did work for public health and women's and worker's rights in southern Africa.

Living in South Africa taught me so much about what it means to be human and in relation with others. 

South Africa continues to be a home for me, and we visit my host family and dear friends there as often as we can.

I am originally from Philadelphia, a city that I love and where my mother and brother continue to live. 

I am close with her and my three siblings, and I really enjoy returning there regularly to be with them.

I love to move-- whether it's walking, running, dancing, hiking, or traveling.

At the same time, I love being at home, reading, cooking, baking, or just hanging out on the sofa with Nathaniel and our daughter. I find that the best time of my day is always when she wakes up and her bedtime,

when I get to snuggle with her and read her books. It is the best feeling in the world!

 

About Nathaniel

When we were expecting our daughter, a good friend of mine told me, "Prepare to meet your greatest teacher." 

She was right. Our daughter and the blessings and challenges of parenting her have been teaching me so much about life and love. I look forward to welcoming another child in our family to join us as we all grow together. 

 

Working with people to grow together is much of what I do. I serve as the pastor of a Protestant church.

Our church is very engaged in the community and with social issues. The vocation of ministry is an endless source of meaning, inspiration, and challenge for me.

I love connecting with people and their stories and being in community with people trying to make a difference in the world. Ministry suits me because I tend to be a calm presence, caring, and earnest.

The other main passion in my life is music.

I play the violin and like to noodle around with the guitar and mandolin. It’s been fun to share this with our daughter. As a family we love to listen to good music together and dance.  

 

I grew up in Madison, Wisconsin and have lived in several different places in the United States for school and work.

I spent a summer in El Salvador volunteering with a peace organization.

I am fortunate to have parents and a sister who are supportive and loving.

We see them often and they are actively involved in our daughter’s life.

They share our hope that we can welcome another child into our family!

 

About Our Home

We live in a beautiful old home on a quiet tree-lined street in a small city in eastern Washington.

We are within walking distance of several public parks, public schools, and the public library, as well as both of our workplaces and our daughter's preschool.

We have a great backyard, with lots of play equipment, where we spend much of our time when the weather permits. Learning to grow our own food, we have planted peach and nectarine trees and veggies in vegetable boxes

we have built. Picking our own veggies with Alma is one of the highlights of our year!

 

Contact Us

Thank you again for considering us as adoptive parents. Please feel free to contact our adoption attorney directly:

Mark Iverson

Law Office of Mark R. Iverson P.S.

921 West Broadway, Suite 305
Spokane, WA 99201

(509) 462-3678

1-800-338-8273

 

©2019 by Rachel & Nathaniel.